Normal view MARC view ISBD view

When breath becomes air [electronic resource]. Paul Kalanithi.

By: Kalanithi, Paul.
Material type: TextTextPublisher: 2016Description: 1 online resource.Content type: text Media type: computer Carrier type: online resourceISBN: 9780812988413 (electronic bk).Subject(s): Nonfiction | Biography & Autobiography | Medical | SociologyGenre/Form: Electronic books.Additional physical formats: No titleOnline resources: Click to access digital title. | Excerpt Sample | Image Large cover image | Thumbnail Thumbnail cover image Summary: For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
No physical items for this record

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...

Electronic reproduction. New York : Random House, 2016. Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4842 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).

There are no comments for this item.

Log in to your account to post a comment.

Other editions of this work

When breath becomes air / by Kalanithi, Paul, ©2016
When breath becomes air / by Kalanithi, Paul, ©2016
When breath becomes air / by Kalanithi, Paul, ©2016

915 Monroe Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 | Phone: (256) 532-5940 | Circulation & Renewals: (256) 532-5984 | Contact the Library | Privacy Policy

Powered by Koha