The red address book / Sofia Lundberg ; translated by Alice Menzies.

By: Lundberg, Sofia, 1974- [author.]
Contributor(s): Menzies, Alice [translator.]
Material type: TextTextLanguage: English Original language: Swedish Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019Edition: First U.S. editionDescription: pages cmContent type: text Media type: unmediated Carrier type: volumeISBN: 9781328473011; 1328473015 :Uniform titles: Den r�oda adressboken. English Subject(s): Older women -- Fiction | Reminiscing in old age -- FictionDDC classification: 839.73/8 LOC classification: PT9877.22.U535 | R6313 2019Summary: "Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy."--Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come . . . Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny--her American grandniece, and her only relative--give her great joy and remind her of her own youth. When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past--working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War--can shehelp Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris's life? A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise--and irresistible--storyteller.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Current location Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Book Book Bailey Cove Branch
Adult fiction
Adult fiction F LUN (Browse shelf) Available 31562017030414
Book Book Downtown Branch
Adult fiction
Adult fiction F LUN (Browse shelf) Available 31562017030406
Book Book Madison Branch
Adult fiction
Adult fiction F LUN (Browse shelf) Available 31562017030398
Book Book Monrovia Branch
Adult fiction
Adult fiction F LUN (Browse shelf) Available 31562017030430
Book Book Murphy Branch
Adult fiction
Adult fiction F LUN (Browse shelf) Available 31562017030422
Total holds: 0

"Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy."--Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old Doris, who writes down the memories of her eventful life as she pages through her decades-old address book. But the most profound moment of her life is still to come . . . Meet Doris, a 96-year-old woman living alone in her Stockholm apartment. She has few visitors, but her weekly Skype calls with Jenny--her American grandniece, and her only relative--give her great joy and remind her of her own youth. When Doris was a girl, she was given an address book by her father, and ever since she has carefully documented everyone she met and loved throughout the years. Looking through the little book now, Doris sees the many crossed-out names of people long gone and is struck by the urge to put pen to paper. In writing down the stories of her colorful past--working as a maid in Sweden, modelling in Paris during the 30s, fleeing to Manhattan at the dawn of the Second World War--can shehelp Jenny, haunted by a difficult childhood, unlock the secrets of their family and finally look to the future? And whatever became of Allan, the love of Doris's life? A charming novel that prompts reflection on the stories we all should carry to the next generation, and the surprises in life that can await even the oldest among us, The Red Address Book introduces Sofia Lundberg as a wise--and irresistible--storyteller.

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

Other editions of this work

The red address book by Lundberg, Sofia. ©2019
The red address book / by Lundberg, Sofia, ©2019

915 Monroe Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 | Phone: (256) 532-5940 | Circulation & Renewals: (256) 532-5984 | Contact the Library | Privacy Policy

Powered by Koha