A burning [electronic resource] : A novel. Megha Majumdar.

By: Majumdar, MeghaContributor(s): Adam, VikasMaterial type: SoundSoundPublisher: New York : Random House Audio, 2020Edition: UnabridgedDescription: 1 online resource (6 audio files) : digitalContent type: spoken word Media type: audio | computer Carrier type: online resourceISBN: 9780593212110 (sound recording)Subject(s): Fiction | Literature | ThrillerGenre/Form: Electronic books.Other classification: FIC019000 | FIC031000 | FIC037000 Online resources: Click for more information. | Excerpt Sample | Image Large cover image | Thumbnail Thumbnail cover image Narrator: Vikas Adam.Summary: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely—an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor—has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut. A novel about fate, power, opportunity, and class; about innocence and guilt, betrayal and love, and the corrosive media cycle that manufactures falsehoods masquerading as truths— A Burning is a debut novel of exceptional power and urgency, haunting and beautiful, brutal, vibrant, impossible to forget.
List(s) this item appears in: 2020 National Book Awards Longlist
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
No physical items for this record

Unabridged.

Narrator: Vikas Adam.

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India. Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan's fall. Lovely—an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the novel with warmth and hope and humor—has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening lines, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An extraordinary debut. A novel about fate, power, opportunity, and class; about innocence and guilt, betrayal and love, and the corrosive media cycle that manufactures falsehoods masquerading as truths— A Burning is a debut novel of exceptional power and urgency, haunting and beautiful, brutal, vibrant, impossible to forget.

Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 207466 KB).

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

Other editions of this work

A burning / by Majumdar, Megha, ©2020
A burning / by Majumdar, Megha, ©2020

915 Monroe Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 | Phone: (256) 532-5940 | Circulation & Renewals: (256) 532-5984 | Contact the Library | Privacy Policy

Powered by Koha